top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudith Cox

Veggie Bites #180

Veggie Bites

One Hundred and Eighty

The magic week in March has arrived early this year, so I shall have to scramble to

get my work done. What is the magic week? It is that marvelous time when you can

pull up your nasty burdock because that taproot just slides right out of the ground.

This week the soil has warmed enough to pull these plants, but they have yet to

form rootlets along that massive tap root. This time does not last for long, so I shall

be making this my priority. I have found that this also works for wild parsnip.

Burdock (Arctium minus) is a weed in our area and is native to Europe and parts of

Asia. Sometimes is it cultivated as a vegetable. It is a biennial that looks almost like

rhubarb in its first year, then shoots up in its second year and develops burrs that

stick to everything! As it gets taller, it seems to develop a taproot that reaches to the

center of the earth.

Burdock plant

The older plants are easy to find. They are large brown structures and covered in

burrs. What I do is drape a garbage bag over the plant to try to avoid the burrs and

pull. I place the entire plant in a large black plastic construction bag. Once I have

finished pulling all that I can see, I put this large bag in a sunny spot and leave it for

at least six weeks. The sun works on it, and it usually breaks down enough to go

into the compost. However, never underestimate those burrs. They take a very long

time to decompose. You may find cold spots as you are pulling. If the plants are not

coming out, leave them for a couple of days and the area will warm up.

The burdock root appears smooth as the rootlets

have not formed.

For the wild parsnip, I use basically the same technique but cover up more. If you

are very allergic, even a tiny bit of sap will burn you. After it has sat in the sun for

six weeks it is easy to compost. Because wild parsnip (Pastinaca sativa) is also a

biennial I usually find the large second-year plants easier to find. They are tall and

often have seed heads. The first-year plants are difficult to find and often look like

perennials or vegetables that I am growing in my garden.

Wild Parsnip plant

I was starting to despair about my pepper seeds but now am happy to report that

they are up! How exciting is that! As you can see in the photo, I have taken

advantage of a clear container that I picked up that had strawberries in it. It made

a perfect little greenhouse for my dahlia seeds. Growing dahlias from seed is not

expensive and you can find some interesting colours. There are a number of little

greenhouse planters at the grocery store. You can use the containers for roasted

chickens, some lettuce containers and some berry containers as well. A great way to

recycle.

Peppers and dahlias

The weather is warm with warnings of a few cold days ahead. It is tempting to

clean up the garden, but everything is vulnerable right now. You don’t want to

compress your soil especially with the warnings of drought for the upcoming season

so walk lightly. Ticks will wake up with the warmer weather, so be aware of that as

well. Enjoy your week. Judith

(Email: sghorticultural@gmail.com) Veggie Bites are available at

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veggie Bites #181

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty-one I awoke this morning to munching sounds. One of my too-many cats had found her way into the plant compound and there went a large number of my seedlings. Heavy

Veggie Bites #179-2024

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Seventy-nine As usual, the weather is being weird. Freezing cold at one moment and unseasonably warm the next. I am finding it difficult to predict what the garden is goin

bottom of page