top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudith Cox

Veggie Bites #179-2024

Veggie Bites

One Hundred and Seventy-nine

As usual, the weather is being weird. Freezing cold at one moment and unseasonably

warm the next. I am finding it difficult to predict what the garden is going to do. I am

watching for broken branches that I can cut. Be careful not to cut maple branches as

the sap may be running.

My apologies for not sending out a Veggie Bites for a while. It has been a busy time

here as one of the too-many cats was very ill. Hopefully now with special food and

medicine she will rally. So far, she is doing well.

I have been reading about interesting ideas in various books, many recommended by

friends. One of these books mentioned something called a Vision Board. It is very

similar to the garden journal I am working on. This is when you find pictures and

articles on what it is you desire for your garden, and you put these things on a large

board. This board sits in your room where you can see it, think about it and plan. It

could be very helpful or daunting depending on how you view it. Please do not be

discouraged by magazine pictures of pristine gardens. These gardens have staff, and

you are only you. You are doing a wonderful job.

The various seeds I ordered are starting to arrive and that is exciting. I am also going

through my existing seeds to choose those that have to get started now. In the past,

my luck with pepper seeds has been, well, not that great. Maybe I do not have

enough light or heat. I also learned that pepper seeds have a strong shell that can

inhibit their germination. As I read more about this, the article mentioned camomile

tea. Apparently, camomile tea has mild antifungal properties which is why it is

recommended as an addition to your water to prevent damp-off. As well, it seems to

break down the exterior of pepper seeds allowing for better germination. As a result,

I decided to do an experiment! I never recommend anything until I try it myself and

even then, I try to find further research on it. So, I have soaked my pepper seeds for

24 hours in a jar of mild cold camomile tea. And we shall see. I am continuing to be

careful with my watering. I have a water softener, so I make sure that I get untreated

water for my plants, and I let it sit so that it is room temperature. No need to freeze

my tiny seedlings. If you are on city water, let the water sit for 24 to 48 hours before

you use it.

I put a few of my favourite pepper

seeds in the tea.

Speaking of seeds, the Carp Seedy Saturday is fast approaching. March 9, 10am to

2pm at the Carp Fairgrounds. If you are not able to attend, check out Seeds of

Diversity at https://seeds.ca/. You will find under the tab, What We Do, a list of all

sorts of Seedy Saturdays and Sundays. At these events, you will find local vendors

and horticultural societies. The seeds for sale are usually reasonably priced and there

is also often a seed swapping table. I am looking forward to this event and our

members have collected a great many seeds.

It has been cooler lately, so I am making more fires in the woodstove. I only burn

wood, because I use the ash. Once the ash bucket is full it goes into the chicken

coop. It will mix with bedding and dirt and chicken leavings and add an extra layer

of nutrients to my spring soil mixture. The chickens like to roll around in it as well.

Some of the too-many cats enjoying the warmth

of the woodstove.

At present it is cold, but it is supposed to go up a lot in a couple of days. I shall

continue to dress in layers. Enjoy your week. Judith

(Email: sghorticultural@gmail.com) Veggie Bites are available at

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veggie Bites #181

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty-one I awoke this morning to munching sounds. One of my too-many cats had found her way into the plant compound and there went a large number of my seedlings. Heavy

Veggie Bites #180

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty The magic week in March has arrived early this year, so I shall have to scramble to get my work done. What is the magic week? It is that marvelous time when you can

bottom of page