top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudith Cox

One Hundred and Twenty-one


Judith reminds us to stop the rushing and enjoy the magic that is your garden.

The itching has finally calmed down and I no longer look like I have been dipped in flour. Calamine lotion is a remarkable thing. As I continue to give the wild parsnip and poison ivy a wide berth, there is still more weeding that needs to be done. As you know, I have creeping bellflower and green goutweed to deal with, but I can only do what I can do. My open house is this Sunday, so I will let the pollinators speak for my garden.


Life has been quite overwhelming lately and I have let it take me over. I realized that this was not a good thing as I found myself rushing past the tomatoes. Stop! I stopped. The sky was grey and soft and there was a sweet scent in the air. The scent of the alyssum was surrounding me with waves of honey. The nasturtiums were bright and happy in oranges and reds as well as the deep dark red one, while each tomato plant had fruit forming. I was missing this while rushing from one thing to the next. Rushing means that I am more likely to injure my knees. Rushing means that I miss problems with my plants. But most importantly rushing means that I miss the joy that is my garden. This late afternoon I am sitting outside watching the birds and butterflies and bees and even those nasty squirrels. Sometimes you do need to stop and remember what is important.


Alyssum with nasturtiums and Black Krim tomatoes


My container of heritage spinach and cucamelons is finally growing well. I have had to work on the drainage a lot and now the container no longer sits wet. The spinach should be vining soon, and I am looking for little cucamelon flowers. I have always known cucamelons as fairy watermelons. They are also known as Mexican sour cucumbers. These little beauties are delicious in a salad. The too-many cats look out of the window at the birds and whatever little creatures visit this container. Good thing it is guarded by gargoyles.



Spinach and cucamelon


This continues to be the time of the daylily. I love all the colours and shapes and scents that I get with my daylilies and the remarkable number of visitors that wander by. I saw a hummingbird visiting as well as butterflies, hoverflies and bees. All of these pollinators move onto my veggies insuring a good harvest. I often use my daylilies in my art, so I find it inspiring to see them throughout my garden. They come with interesting names like Rilly Frilly, Custard Candy, Night Embers and of course, my amazing Bella Lugosi. I continue to try crossing daylilies to develop one of my own. Perhaps I shall name it Too-many Cats.


Daylily


We have had some rain in these past few days, so be sure to tip any pots that have not drained all the way. Plants do not like to dry out, but they also do not like to sit wet for a long time. Take some time for you. Enjoy your week.


Judith (Email: sghorticultural@gmail.com)





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veggie Bites #181

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty-one I awoke this morning to munching sounds. One of my too-many cats had found her way into the plant compound and there went a large number of my seedlings. Heavy

Veggie Bites #180

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty The magic week in March has arrived early this year, so I shall have to scramble to get my work done. What is the magic week? It is that marvelous time when you can

Veggie Bites #179-2024

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Seventy-nine As usual, the weather is being weird. Freezing cold at one moment and unseasonably warm the next. I am finding it difficult to predict what the garden is goin

bottom of page