top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudith Cox

Eighty-four


Before our gardens are covered in snow, taking stock of what worked and what didn't work is a good plan.  Making notes on the changes you wish to make come spring is even better.

Greetings fellow gardeners,

It is difficult to wander about the garden at this time of year. Did I miss something? Should I protect this or cut down that? And so, in order to distract myself I brought out some paper and pens and began to make sketches.

There are several places in my garden that need a change. The tomatoes have been in the same area for a long time and that might account for their less than stellar performance. I have two other areas that are sunny and bright, and the tomatoes would be happy there. My cucumbers need a spot where they can commune with the earth. The patio variety of cucumber does very well in containers, but the larger slicing cucumber does not. I found the plants were stunted and prone to diseases; they might do well where I had the tomatoes. While the zucchini did very well perched on the hügelkultur, the Queensland Blue squash did not. It was chewed up by a variety of small rodents and I think the squash borer got to it as well. I could put the squash in the more protected former tomato area, making it easier to monitor. Also, I have read that if you wrap tinfoil loosely about the base of the stem of the squash it will deter the borer. I am going to experiment with this next summer.


I have been collecting large pots and, in my walkabout, I thought about where I would like to put pots next year. I do enjoy my cannas and dahlias in pots, and they would do well interplanted with various leafy greens. This summer I tried a large pot with a canna lily in it and planted Swiss chard all around the outside. It was an interesting display. I will be working on my collections of seeds next week and making note of seeds that I want. Rainbow Swiss chard is at the top of that list. I waited too long last year and was unable to buy any. I loved my pots of lettuce that were bright and shiny in the summer shade, and that is something I will continue to do.


Near the back of my property, I have been slowly building a little fairy garden with pots of hardy flowers and pots on top of old stumps. There are little doors and little shiny things that the crows find interesting. Winter gives me time to think this through. I am hoping to learn more about native plants so that I can add them into the fairy garden. You can never have too much bloodroot.


Fairy Garden


For the next few weeks, I will be reviewing my sketches and notes, making changes, and building up my annual wish list of seeds. I am still working on my plant compound as Leo, one of the too-many cats, sees the begonias as his personal buffet. The dahlias and cannas have had the dirt brushed off of them and are now loosely wrapped in newspaper in a box, hopefully away from curious kitties.








Icicle Pansies


Right now, however, I am continuing to enjoy my icicle pansies. Such a treat as the weather gets colder and darkness comes so early.


Enjoy your week.

Judith. (Email: sghorticultural@gmail.com)



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Veggie Bites #181

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty-one I awoke this morning to munching sounds. One of my too-many cats had found her way into the plant compound and there went a large number of my seedlings. Heavy

Veggie Bites #180

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Eighty The magic week in March has arrived early this year, so I shall have to scramble to get my work done. What is the magic week? It is that marvelous time when you can

Veggie Bites #179-2024

Veggie Bites One Hundred and Seventy-nine As usual, the weather is being weird. Freezing cold at one moment and unseasonably warm the next. I am finding it difficult to predict what the garden is goin

bottom of page